Populate the side area with widgets, images, navigation links and whatever else comes to your mind.
18 Northumberland Avenue, London, UK
(+44) 871.075.0336
Follow us
Follow Us

+32 (0)2 229 38 69

Rue du Méridien 10, 1210 Bruxelles


Organisational structure

Sophia is

Sophia is the work of:

Two co-presidents

Annalisa Casini and Lisa Wouters

Two Coordinators

Medea Ghijsen (NL) and Nina Poels (FR)

An Executive Board

Tinne Claes, Michiel De Proost, Mattias Decoster, Ghaliya Djelloul, Caroline Glorie, Nathalie Grandjean, Maryam Kolly, Stéphanie Loriaux, Patricia Melotte, Beatrijs Vanacker and Sigrid Vertommen.

A General Assembly

Jean-Didier Bergilez, Sarah Bracke, Karen Celis, Katrien De Graeve, Cécile De Wandeler, Mathieu de Wasseige, Elke D’hoker, Nadia Fadil, Els Flour, Anke Gilleir, Chia Longman, Claudine Marissal, Bérengère Marques-Pereira, Petra Meier, Laurence Mundschau, David Paternotte, Charlotte Pezeril, Sarah Scheepers, Sarah Sepulchre, Anya Topolski, Inge Van der Stighelen, Kaat Wils, Sophie Withaeckx and Alison Woodward.

The Honorary Members

Laurence Broze, Ada Garcia, Annemie Pernot, Nadine Plateau, Micheline Scheys and Mieke Van Nuland.

The Supporting Members (2021)

Petra Meier, Alison Woodward and Sarah Bracke.

Become a member

You can support Sophia and thereby contribute to the promotion of gender studies in Belgium by becoming a member of our network. Your membership will help us to expand our network and emphasize the importance of gender studies as a discipline. As an active member, you can profit from discount rates for all our activities.

How can you become a member? 

By filling in one of the forms below (only available in Dutch or French) and transferring the membership fee of €30 (€15 for students, job seekers and lower incomes) to BE81-0682-1051-8824 – BIC: GKCCBEBB. Don’t forget to mention ‘membership fee for year’ + e-mail address in your communication. Your membership will remain valid for one year after payment. You can also set up a yearly automatic payment, so your membership will be renewed every year.

Do you want to give gender studies an extra boost? 

That’s entirely possible! With a contribution of €50 or more, you can become a supportive member of Sophia and be mentioned on our website for your support.

Devenir membre:

Lid worden: